User Tools

Site Tools


managing_users

Managing users

Roles and users concept

In WebHMI, there is a mechanism for managing users and their roles. The roles give or forbid access to certain project parts, while the users are binded to these roles.

You can access the user setup from pop-up menu (for 3.6 and higer fw)

Or from the side menu (for 3.5 and lowe fw)

Managing roles

On a new device, there are 3 roles configured by default:

Admin role

Can perform any actions in the project. This role with id = 1 can not be deleted from the project and only one property can be changed - its title.

Other roles

The non-admin roles (id <> 1) can be freely configured. In the scratch new project there are 2 pre-configured roles for your convenience.

  • Operator - can navigate most of the project and change values ​​on the dashboards
  • Read-only user - can only view the project (can't change anything)
Role configuratin page

Managing users

As in case with the roles, there is a static “admin” user with id = 1 who can not be deleted. Only these attributes for him can be changed:

Admin can add as many roles and users as needed in your project.

Guest user

In some cases, you may want to avoid users using keyboard for entering the WebHMI:

  • The project is indended for automatic event driven user interface change, when the user interacts with the touch panel or monitor without input devices like keyboard or mouse, and the only thing he can do is to press some button on the screen
  • you want to quickly create a “Read only” users and share your project for demonstration to everyone
  • other similar scenarios

Then, the login page for the users will look like:

Click Login into system for standard login page.

Auto close unattended user session

When working in a “multitasking” mode, most users open and leave “for ever” a lot of open tabs at the same time – this is more practical than constantly opening and closing the same tab. They are often opened from different devices. However, the system continues to exchange data with the browser, even if the user does not look at the page for several days. This subtle “trickle” can become a “stream” in a multiuser system, and also create unnecessary load on the system.

Now, in the user settings, you can set an idle timeout after which the exchange of data with the page will automatically stop and resume after the page is refreshed.